A+E Networks To Receive Television Academy’s 2015 Governors Award


The Television Academy will honor A+E Networks with its 2015 Governors Award in recognition of their corporate social responsibility programs.

The Governors Award will be presented during the Creative Arts Emmy Awards on Saturday, September 12.

“For over 30 years, A+E Networks has had an unwavering commitment to the communities we serve. It is a great honor for our Corporate Outreach initiatives to be recognized by the Television Academy with its Governors Award,” said Nancy Dubuc, President and CEO of A+E Networks. “Television is a powerful medium and we are proud to be able to use our networks and platforms to shine a light on important social issues.”

From the Academy’s release:
A+E Networks has been an active participant in the communities that they entertain, with a dedicated focus on three pillars: people, programming and partnerships. Through its many networks and platforms, A+E Networks has undertaken significant, pro-social initiatives that have tied in with its programming, and created powerful partnerships with such organizations as Big Brothers Big Sisters, Breast Cancer Research Foundation, March of Dimes, NAACP, Stand Up to Cancer and Team Rubicon. A&E’s Intervention Town Hall Meetings, Lifetime’s Broad Focus, History’s Thank a Veteran at Work and Take A Veteran to School have all joined with corporate and government leaders, including the White House, to impact the lives of as many people as possible through major public service initiatives. A+E Networks’ public service campaigns have advanced a wide range of causes including drug and alcohol addiction and recovery; women and girls’ empowerment; breast cancer research and advocacy; preservation of our country’s historic sites; and the critical issues facing our veterans and military families.

The Governors Award recipient is chosen by the Television Academy’s board of governors and bestowed upon an individual, company, organization or project for outstanding cumulative or singular achievement in the television industry. Past recipients include Walter Cronkite, Bob Hope, American Idol Gives Back, It Gets Better Project and more.

Source: http://deadline.com/2015/09/ae-networks-television-academy-2015-governors-award-1201513860/